Zazar Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Zazar > Help & Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - zweather for Norway
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

zweather for Norway

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: zweather for Norway
    Posted: 22 Mar 2015 at 22:39
Hey people of Zazar,

I'm trying to get the weather forecast for a small place in Norway,..
When i fill in the ID NOXX7246 it returns "city not found"...
http://www.weather.com/weather/today/l/NOXX7246:1:NO

Is there a limitation on places in the world that won't show up in the zweather software?
Is there a way to hardcode the location i'm trying to display?

I've tried this:
    <script type="text/javascript">
          jQuery(document).ready(function () {
           jQuery('#weather').weatherfeed(['NOXX7564']);
          });
     </script>

Thanks for your help! Would be great if i could use your software for this website.
Back to Top
David View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Points: 224
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 11:36
Hi

If you use the search example to find the location it returns:

Hitra, Hitra Kommune, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

with a WOEID of 859797. Try using this ID in your script - remember to set 'woeid' to true.

www.zazar.net/developers/jquery/zweatherfeed/example_location.html
David Woolston
Zazar Support
Back to Top
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 15:54
Hey,

Thanks a lot for your help.. unfortunatly it didn't help.. it returns a "city not found":


I dit set woeid to true.

http://www.helgebostad.com/wordpress/wp-content/themes/bedbreakfast/js/jquery.zweatherfeed.js

Perhaps some other setting needs to be changed with this wordpress theme?

Is it also possible to get weather feeds from a different website?
http://om.yr.no/verdata/
or
http://www.storm.no/

Thanks again for your help and support!
- Jacco

Back to Top
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 16:18
It seems as tough some cities won't be displayed.. If i try to use a random city in the Netherlands it also tells me city not found. Does this software support every city worldwide you can lookup on weather.com ?
Back to Top
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 16:22
Perhaps can i hardcode the woeid somewhere in the script?
The wordpress theme that uses your software tells me to get the ID from weather.com, it looks different then the type i ID generated by your WOEID location search.
It generates an ID like: 859619
While weather.com gives me an ID like: NOXX0039
Back to Top
David View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Points: 224
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 21:45
Hi

You shouldn't need to hard code any values as they are parameters. Also it is best to use the latest version 1.3.0.

A value like 859619 is a WOEID identifier used by the Yahoo! API that the plugin relies on (WOEID should be set to true). An id such as NOXX0039 is a weather.com (WOEID should be set to false).

Which city are you trying to find?
David Woolston
Zazar Support
Back to Top
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2015 at 22:22
Hey there!
So i should go to yahoo to get the correct ID instead of weather.com?
And when i use yahoo i should set WOEID to true?

I'm trying to find: Helgebostad in Norway

Thanks for your help!
Back to Top
David View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group
Avatar

Joined: 14 Oct 2009
Points: 224
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2015 at 08:54
Hi

Use the zWeatherFeed location example, type in 'Helgebostad, Norway' it returns 2 locations with that name.

Click either and it does return current temperatures, although 'Helgebostad, Stranda Kommune' has limited information.

http://www.zazar.net/developers/jquery/zweatherfeed/example_location.html
David Woolston
Zazar Support
Back to Top
donorbrain View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 Mar 2015
Location: Netherlands
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote donorbrain Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Mar 2015 at 17:38
It works!!!

Thanks a lot for your help and time.

- Jacco
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.15
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.